Day 2 – Orientation Day

Day 2 – Orientation Day
Venice, Italy

Venice, Italy


I’m calling today my ‘orientation day’ at least that’s what I thought it would be when I set off. However I soon found out that there was absolutely no point in trying to remember where I’d been as there was no way I would be able to retrace my steps. Venice is like a maze, a beautiful one but a maze nevertheless. When you turn a corner you never know what’s ahead, it could be a church, or a canal or another even another corner!

I decided early on just to take what ever street I fancied and then try to get my bearings when I stumbled across something that looked like a landmark. I actually managed to stumble across 6 of the top 10 sights but missed the Bridge of Sighs. How you may ask – very easy I reply. The writing on the map was too small, I didn’t have my glasses, the map was plastic and shining in the sun, it’s actually hidden down a side street! Anyway I need something to look for tomorrow or Wednesday.

After about 3 hours I decided it was time to sit and eat. Took me another hour to choose a restaurant and I tucked into a ‘tourist’ meal of fresh vegetable soup followed by chicken escalope with tomato sauce, chips and green salad, All washed down with half a litre of Prosecco of course. Total cost was 28 Euros including tip. Luckily I decided to ask for directions back to the pick up point before i left the restaurant, if I hadn’t I would have gone in completely the wrong direction. I navigated my way back following signs I eventually noticed on the walls and arrived at the pick up point almost 2.5 hours early. Why did I think I would be able to walk around from 12 noon until 8 p.m.! I rang the hotel and unfortunately I had just missed one shuttle bus but I reserved a place on the next one at 18.40. I wandered around the streets near the pick up point, bought some post cards and sat in a cafe until the bus arrived.

Although it was New Year’s Eve there’s not much else for me to report. I opted to watched the fireworks unfold from my bedroom window. I’m going down for an early breakfast, well early for a holiday and then head back over to Venice to see if I can be there when it’s quiet. A very slim chance I know but it’s worth a try 🙂

Good Night and Happy New Year to you all


Leave a Reply

