Table Top sales – week 2

Small jump for joy
Well this is how I felt at the end of my second Table Top sale. Not only did I sell Avon but also earrings and necklaces 🙂 🙂 My total sales were not huge but they did cover my expenses on the day at least. Plus there were more visitors to the event asking questions and making comments on my jewellery e.g. do you have any with magnetic clasps or longer chains that I can just slip over my head? This helps me think about what stock to buy and what type of jewellery to make next. I didn’t go the the sale this week (19th June) so it’ll be interesting to find if people were asking about our stall.

Earlier last week I met with some of my colleagues I used to work with and took my jewellery with me. It was great to meet up with them again and it was very ‘ladies what lunch’. Not only did they buy some of my jewellery but they placed orders for custom-made pieces and gave me plenty of ideas for what to make next.

At the beginning of last week I had a lovely day at the Christening of my friend’s daughter. As a keepsake I made a collage that they could hang on the wall. Initially I didn’t use the right fixings and bits fell off but I was able to correct that and I’m very pleased with the end result. I thought I would to use this as a template to develop some unique pieces, customers could commission me to make one for a special occasion or person. I’m going to do a bit of research to see if there is some way the pieces could be sealed maybe varnished or put behind glass. Elsie Hope 3

Last weekend I spent a lovely time with friends in Yorkshire. There are some beautiful places to visit and Saturday found us walking part of the Stanza Stones Poetry Trail to ‘Rain’. There are 6 poems in the trail and the walk to Rain is the longest at 1.2 miles the others range from 0.25 miles to 0.8 miles. On Sunday we went to Ilkley, we did a bit of shopping then went for a short walk on Ilkley Moor and stumbled across White Wells Spa Cottage. The cottage has a great history to it and although it was quite warm none of us dared take the plunge in the freezing cold well 🙂 My shopping was very productive as I picked up some really useful items in the charity shops which I’ll be able to dismantle and re-use in pieces of jewellery that I make. On the Monday I did a little bit of shopping on the way to the train station (it would be rude not to!) and found some lovely items of button jewellery. I knew using buttons in crafting was the latest craze but I’d not seen any jewellery like this before and it gave me some great ideas. I’ve already raided by Mum’s button box and if anyone out there has a box full of buttons that they wish to part with I’ll happily take them off your hands. The shop I saw the buttons jewellery in does have a website but there are no photos of that particular jewellery so the link I have used is to Etsy (which just so happens to be the website I use to sell my jewellery!)

http://www.ilkleyliteraturefestival.org.uk/test/stanza-stones-trail-guide
http://www.visitbradford.com/thedms.aspx?dms=3&venue=1587443
https://www.etsy.com/market/stacked_button_ring

Over the next few weeks I’ll be concentrating on making more jewellery especially ones with longer chains and some items with the buttons 🙂

Leave a Reply

