August Table Tops and Craft Fairs

August has been a month of mixed fortunes at the various events I attended:

  • 3 craft fairs
  • 4 Table Tops and
  • a fundraising event for Blackpool Nine Lives Rescue.

 

Craft Fairs
The three Craft Fairs were completely different events and I had varying degrees of successfulness when I look at creations sold versus costs to attend. The first was at a village hall in Hutton which was about 5 miles away and I sold a pair of earrings and some cards. The second was at Preston Grasshoppers RFC which was less than 2 miles from home and I did sell more that day; a couple of pendants, a couple of pairs of earrings, 3 bag charms and several cards. The third fair was at Clitheroe which was about 25 miles away from my home. I sold a couple of bag charms; a 3 piece set of earrings, necklace and bracelet; a bookmark and several cards but this didn’t really offset the costs of hiring the stall and petrol.

HuttonMy stall 2nd August 2014
Preston RFC20140817_104043
ClitheroeCrafty Vintage Clitheroe - Whole stall

Table Tops
The Table tops are every Thursday and in Cleveleys by the seaside 🙂 During the first couple of weeks of the school holidays it was very, very quiet, on a couple of weeks I was the only stall! but after the Bank Holiday it started to pick up. I’m really enjoying these events, there are regular stall holders and now there are regular customers who come every week. The advantage for me is that I don’t have to restrict myself to my handmade creations I can also sell my Avon and various other second hand items that I may have lying around the house 😉 I plan to be at this event every week from now until Christmas apart from 2 holidays at the end of September and the end of October so please feel free to come along and see me.
20140828_164609
20140828_162704
20140828_162432

Fundraising event
I have to say this was an absolutely fabulous event – not only did I sell lots of things but the host and her friends raised over £150 for the Blackpool Nine Lives Rescue charity. From a purely business point of view I sold lots of jewellery and Avon on the night plus took orders to be delivered 2 weeks later, I had no ‘stall hire’ costs and the petrol wasn’t excessive as Blackpool is less than 20 miles from home. I donated £20 from my takings to the charity and the host is trying to persuade some of friends to hold similar events to raise more money.
https://www.facebook.com/BlackpoolCatsInCare?fref=ts
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xfa1/v/t1.0-9/10614186_366483130172416_5016023103380546656_n.jpg?oh=d386cfdf93939007d29e4944f7f1bed2&oe=54960E5F&__gda__=1418720361_b338bce29513b5f86d264feefe8f1b14

Looking ahead for September it seems a bit quiet. I’ve not been able to hire any stalls at the big craft events this month because I haven’t ‘paid my dues’ yet – other crafters have been there rain or shine for the whole year and I’m trying to ‘q-jump’ effectively at the busiest time of the year. However my Aunt and Uncle came to stay with me for a week last week and I’m going to Rome for a week at the end of the month so I’ll need the spare time to make plenty of stock for Christmas – esp Christmas cards and stocking fillers.
20140819_212417
Candy striped studs £1 a pair

In October I’m starting to get really busy, there are two other regular Table Top/Car Boot events on a Saturday and Sunday that I’m going to try out and I’ve applied for a place on a fundraising event in Poulton. I have places on 2 other fundraising events in Preston and Calder Vale which I will give you more details about next month. Also I have written to a couple of churches to see if I can hire a stall at their Christmas Fayres. Please let me know if you are an organiser of, or know about, any other events that at which I could hire a stall. Finally please feel free comment or send me a PM with contact details if you’d like me to make anything for you for Christmas 🙂

Leave a Reply

